SLSP was founded in 1986, presently majority of qualified physiotherapists in Sri Lanka are its registered members. The SLSP is the only Professional, Educational and regulatory organization established in Sri Lanka through a legalised Parliament act.


To be the center of excellence for Physiotherapists as the most member-centered organization


To set up and maintain scientific and client care quality, technical and ethical standards through adhering national and international code of ethics and compliances for Physiotherapy Profession to bring the total care for the service users

History of the Society

During 1986, A several enthusiastic physiotherapists working in Colombo, with the guidance of Mrs. Theera Fernando, then principal of School of Physiotherapy and Mr. Julien Fernando, President of the Government Physiotherapists Association founded the Society, as the only Professional body for Physiotherapists in Sri Lanka with a draft of a constitution as well as governing act was registered with the Registrar of Companies.

The first Scientific Sessions of Sri Lanka Society of Physiotherapy was held at the School of Physiotherapy, then General Hospital, Colombo (now NHSL) on the 25th January 1987, The Chief Guest was Dr.S.Gunasekera, Deputy Director General of the Ministry of Health, Sri Lanka.

The first Lecture “Physiotherapy in Intensive Care” was given by Dr.A.T.W.P.Jayawardene FFCA (UK), FACC (USA), Consultant Anaesthesiologist, Cardiothoracic S.I.C.U. who pioneered intensive therapy in Sri Lanka and the relevant workshop was conducted by Mr.D.S.N.Malaweera, then Senior Physiotherapist of Surgical Intensive Care Unit, General Hospital, Colombo, Sri Lanka.

Next lecture was “Management of a patient following Laminectomy” given by Dr. Colvin Samarasinghe FRCS, Consultant Neuro Surgeon, Neuro Surgical Unit, General Hospital, Colombo followed by the Physiotherapy management by Mr.Donald Wadanamby, Senior Physiotherapist, Neuro Surgical Unit, GHC.

3rd lecture was on “Cerebral Palsy” by Dr. (Mrs) Vidyasagara, Consultant Rheumatologist, Lady Ridgeway Hospital for Children, Colombo and physiotherapy management was done by Miss.K.Hathurusinghe, Senior Physiotherapist, Lady Ridgeway Hospital for Children, Colombo.

A lecture on the “Role of the physiotherapist in Community based Rehabilitation” was delivered by Dr.Mrs.Padmini Mendis, the W.H.O. Consultant Physiotherapist.

 Next, a lecture on “Common Shoulder Conditions” given by Consultant Rheumatologist Dr.Mrs.V.M.K.Markus. General Hospital, Ragama and Miss. Eugine Edirisinghe, Senior Physiotherapist, Department of Rheumatology and Rehabilitation (Special), did the Physiotherapeutic intervention with “Maitland Techniques for Frozen shoulder”.

The First Annual General Meeting of Sri Lanka Society of Physiotherapy was also held on the 25th January 1987 in the same afternoon after the first Scientific Sessions. Mr.Julien Fernando and Mrs.Theera Fernando and Mrs.K.D.P.Ranasinghe were elected as the First Hon. President, Hon.Vice-President and The Hon. Secretary of the Society respectively.